Suggestions from the community for a tutorial series

Lucas234

Aug 22, 2014
Visit site
I work in retail, and occasionally I'll get an elderly customer interested in trying out a smartphone for the first time. Almost all of them want to go with a prepaid option. iPhones are too expensive on prepaid when you're buying them outright, so despite being fairly user-friendly for the elderly (the only perk of iOS!), it's out of their price range. Because of this, I'm always trying to steer them towards the Lumia 635 we have for AT&T GoPhone. It's hit-and-miss with a lot of people. I had one woman complain that everything needs a password. She didn't like having to sign into Facebook...I told her she'd need a password even if she signed into Facebook on a desktop computer, and she tried to tell me otherwise. Some people are too frustrated and put-off by how different Windows Phone is to even give it a try. She did three exchanges for the same phone, insisting something was wrong with it...

Then, there are other customers like a lovely elderly couple I had who bought the phone, and I tried showing them how to use it, but we got too busy and wasn't able to continue showing them how to do many things. They were quick learners, but I still felt a little bad. They said they'd come back when we weren't so busy, but they never came back on the day they said they would. I showed them the Help + Tips and Luma Help + Tips apps before they left, though. The information they contain is helpful, but the way information is organized isn't useful at all. Additionally, it's not laid out in a way that makes it intuitive. There's no "Lesson One" or "Start Here", what you get is a FAQ and a search bar to type in a question, and hope you phrased your question well enough that you can find the tutorial you're looking for.

It prompted me to think of another, better way to help people adjust to their new Windows Phone.