Benefits of WP 8 for a Non-Social Media iPhone User

Sam I Am Not

Sep 27, 2012
Visit site
I am a current iPhone user (for many years). Much of the focus of what I read about WP8 (or 7) is about the social media prowess of the platform. I do not use Twitter, Facebook, etc. I would like some education as to what benefits Windows Phone platform offers without the social media angle. I want to keep away from hardware items (such as the great new 920 camera, build quality etc), and hear from you about the software experience and what is different in WP VS the iPhone. I am a software developer (not in the mobile space), so I am looking for both a simple UI angle, as well as a technical one.
Here is some of what I do know
  • I understand the basics of live tiles, and know the minor changes from 7 to 8 in this area, but this seems trivial to me.
  • I understand that that it is generally quicker to do things in WP VS iPhone.
  • I understand that much of what is new in 8 is unknown, but that developers will have some leeway in 8 (richer APIs etc) to create apps that were not possible in 7.

In the past I have owned a Pocket PC (an HP Jornada 568), but I think that the iPhone has more in common with WP 7/8 that that one does.
Thanks

gwydionjhr

Dec 16, 2011
Visit site
You've done a pretty good job of covering most of the benefits.

I would disagree that changes to the tile sizes isn't that significant. For example, if email is important to you, you'll be able to large size the tile and actually see some of the content so you can "Glance and Go", only opening the app if what you see on the tile needs immediate attention. That's a huge advantage to the user over a static icon that only shows you a number for your inbox and forces you to open the app all the time like Pavlovs dog and a ringing bell.

There are four key features I use all the time that are integrated into the phone that also don't require first installing and then opening a separate app.