First of all, I’d like to fashion myself as the quintessential consumer that Microsoft has to “win” for this mobile platform to be a success. I’m a late 30s professional male and while not a certified “technofile” I do possess enough savvy to truly appreciate a good mobile experience and I’m “nerdy” enough to find myself frequenting mobile phone discussion forums (no offense intended).

I’ve had smart phones since the early 2000s and became one of the iSheep herd in 2009. Admittedly I fell in love with the iphone. The phone was a marvel – it worked as intended, was very intuitive and you got to be a part of the whole Apple experience. It felt like there was a party going on and I was invited.

However, I’m at the tipping point in which I am bored with the iphone like many others. The incremental launches have failed to inspire and I’ve finally had the light bulb go off that Apple’s phone wasn’t the greatest anymore. There are other exciting options that work well and have greater features.

So that brings me here. I’ve been lurking for the past month and I’m psyched about getting one of the WP8 phone (and possibly tablet). Android is an option and would present a new experience but I’ve always been a guy that likes the underdog and the up-and-coming technology before it’s hit mainstream. To that end, I was a first-day purchaser of the Palm Pre and the WebOs movement but that only lasted two weeks before I ditched that for the iphone.

My only fear with going Windows Phones is that I’ll experience another Palm Pre moment. I doubt that will be the case as Windows is already much more advanced but that leads to my thoughts.

For MS to capture the throng of phone owners suffering from iPhone fatigue they don’t necessarily need to have a phone better than the iphone (yet). However there are a few critical things that would cause me great remorse.