Apps Hub + Notification Center design concept

AgentTheGreat

Aug 3, 2012
Visit site
[UPDATE: New concept created and discussed at Apps List + Notification Center Concept: Take Two]

Hey everyone.
I am a UI and UX designer and the one place that kept bugging me and my friend in Windows Phone UI was the apps list. That list does not fit within any Windows Phone design guidelines and as pictures, music + video and people are all hubs, me and my friend kept wondering why the app list isn't a hub while it is a perfect candidate. I kept thinking that maybe because it is only a list and doesn't have any subsections. That's when it hit me:

All notifications are produced by apps. Whatever toast message you see on the phone is produced by an app; so having an Apps Hub could fix the apps list and at the same time provide a solution for this most wanted feature: the Notification Center.

I started putting some stuff together to see what would the Apps Hub look like. The designed images are here:

attachment.php
attachment.php

The Notifications subsection can be pinned to the Start page, displaying the number of notifications all apps have produced.

Also, the Update section in the Marketplace where you can see new updates for the apps you have installed on the phone can be added as a third panel, which would make having the App Hub even more logical.

The one other thing that kept bugging me was the search icon's location, and I couldn't figure out why should a long list of apps be placed in the middle of the screen just because there is a search icon placed (misplaced) behind it. I think my design fixes a lot of problems.