First time smartphone buyer - should I go Windows?

cruzr96

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
Ever since I saw the Lumia 820 and 920 I've been wanting one. I'm a first time smartphone buyer but I've had limited experience with iOS and Android (borrowing friends' phones and such) I really love Android because it's open source and very tweakable, but I find myself rooting for WP8 because of that gorgeous interface. My question is, should I go ahead and go get a Lumia? (Especially with AT&T's crazy awesome prices right now)

I have no doubt about the hardware, it's the software I'm worried about. I love using apps, and though I'm sure the Marketplace will only get bigger, I'm a little worried that more of the popular apps will not be available (or if I can sideload apps like on Android). Also, I'm not planning on upgrading my PC to W8 and I don't own an Xbox, which is kind of making me hesitant since the company's really pushing this as a companion device that's part of the Windows 8 package.

Would this be a worth it buy for me? Or should I go with Android? I'm buying my phone on contract so I don't want to get stuck with a phone that I hate for a couple years.

Winterfang

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
First time smartphone buyer? Absolutely Jump in my friend. But in all honestly Android sounds better for you, you like apps and tweaking.

Maybe WP8 will be up to part by the next update, they are getting there fast.

cruzr96

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
First time smartphone buyer? Absolutely Jump in my friend. But in all honestly Android sounds better for you, you like apps and tweaking.

Maybe WP8 will be up to part by the next update, they are getting there fast.