IE 10 Drop Down Menu Problem

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
There is no "fix" MS can make. At best, MS can break IE, so all mobile browsers are equally broken. If everyone would focus their anger at the web site developers, say, by regularly calling and mailing them, that would be much more helpful than complaining about MS here.

As mentioned in a few threads already, you can test any web page with this free online webpage-scanner from MS. If it shows problems, the web page needs fixing, and it's a good idea to let the company know.

Larry Grenon

Nov 18, 2013
Visit site
To state that MS is not at fault for drop down menu issues and a host of other issues is hogwash. As a web developer I test my sites in every browser and device under the sun to make sure they work. Sites that worked just fine with IE8 and 9 suddenly don't work when IE10 was introduced. They continue to work on all updates of Chrome, Firefox, Safari on both Macs and PCs. If that isn't MS's fault, I don't know what is.

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
To state that MS is not at fault for drop down menu issues and a host of other issues is hogwash. As a web developer I test my sites in every browser and device under the sun to make sure they work. Sites that worked just fine with IE8 and 9 suddenly don't work when IE10 was introduced. They continue to work on all updates of Chrome, Firefox, Safari on both Macs and PCs. If that isn't MS's fault, I don't know what is.

As a developer of any kind, you should know that such reasoning is hogwash. Possibly a bug in earlier versions of IE allowed your pages to work when they never should have, and IE10 corrected that. Possibly IE10 improved its detection of "quirky" web pages, causing IE10 to detect more imperfect pages and render them (including yours) in compatibility mode (known to handle drop down boxes and touch input differently). My point is, since you obviously don't understand the problem, you can't assign fault.