How do I block a phone number

lottidah

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site
Hello, how can I block a phone number from calling on windows phone? I would be happy just to give them a silent ringtone, but I don't see that option?? I'm new to WP. Thanks

Last edited by a moderator:

TaliZorah

Sep 27, 2011
Visit site
Can't block numbers. Silent ringtone would work but you would have to manually add one.
This is wrong. blocking numbers is all dependent on your carrier. Sometimes the feature is built into phones, sometimes not. Heck even the iPhone doesn't have it built in. login to your carriers website and there should be a section for you to edit blocked numbers. If you have trouble call your carrier and ask about it. Most carriers today have this feature.

lottidah

Nov 4, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for all the info. Android would let me add the unwanted caller as a contact then set them as blocked, which just sent them straight to voicemail if they called me.

Ari69

Feb 22, 2013
Visit site
If you are an AT&T Customer, you have to subscribe to the "Smart Limits for Wireless Parental Controls". This will allow you to block an calls/texts for up to 30 numbers. The downside is that it's a $5/mo charge. Other than creating your own ringtone via a ringtone maker and assigning it to that caller, then this may be your only other option.

o0Nighthawk0o

May 15, 2013
Visit site
No, you can't block a number on your own. You have to go through your carrier.

However, you don't have to make a ring tone. Download Free Ringtones app and search for "Silent". Download the ringtone. What I do is numbers that call me that I want to 'block' I add to a contact called "Ignore" which has the silent ringtone set.

jfa1

Dec 15, 2007
Visit site
You can sometimes block using your carrier. Verizon allows up to 10 numbers free, I believe. Alltel used to as well, but they're now AT&T.