Tethering Issue - Windows Phone 8 and Windows 8

AaronMoorcroft

Dec 11, 2012
Visit site
***FIXED*** - Tethering Issue - Windows Phone 8 and Windows 8

FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED - FIXED

Hi Guys so after reading the first post I was starting to question if I had wrote it myself, I am a computer engineer, exactly the same issue, been though every option I could think of to fix it, in all honesty I probably went over the top right from the off. The joys of being an IT geek huh.

Right good news for you all, I fixed it...........

I hear you asking how ????

hehe well its simple, after a lot of digging and reading up it turns out that Windows 8 wifi drivers are normally installed on the Windows 8 OS and basically that's the issue, all you need to do is download the correct driver for your wifi device and install, you may be able to roll back your driver if not just upgrade to a non Microsoft version.

and well that's it, that's how I fixed my its not working without issue, enjoy guys...

regards

Aaron

pdxrunr

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site
Re: ***FIXED*** - Tethering Issue - Windows Phone 8 and Windows 8

This is NOT a carrier issue. I have tried an 8X on tmobile and verizon with my Dell Latitude E4310 and can't tether using either phone. If it's a driver issue, which I'm not convinced it is, I can't install any other driver other than the one microsoft installed with Windows 8 because it's dated 3/2012 and Dell hasn't released a specific driver for this machine for Win 8 and they probably won't since it's a 3 year old machine. Guess my only option is a new PC.

L

realityeye

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
I had trouble connecting my MacBook air (running windows 8) to my 920 wifi until I did the following:

1. Turn on Internet sharing on the phone
2. On pc connect to the wifi network (it will say limited connection)