(Yet Another) Switching from Android Thread

bullwinkle12

Dec 10, 2012
Visit site
Hey guys! I just joined, and I'm looking forward to hopping on the Windows Phone train! I'm leaning toward the Lumia 920 over the 8X (ATT), but I'll have to test them both out in the store to see how I like them. I'm really excited to become a Windows Phone user, but I have some questions I'm hoping you guys will help me with.

I'm currently on a Samsung Galaxy S (Captivate). I'm a semi-power user - I'm rooted, use custom ROMs, and can troubleshoot minor issues, but lately I've been only using my phone for productivity and entertainment since I went back to grad school. As a student, I have strong needs to always be connected. Also, I am highly invested in the Google ecosystem. This is the main cause of my concern switching to WP8. I am willing to look past the things like lack of apps and a few bugs, but there are several things I need to be sure that I maintain productivity. So, I'm hoping you guys don't mind me being direct with my questions, but I've poured through the forums and mostly found partial answers to my questions, but few that directly address my specific use. I know I wrote a lot, but I figured that it might be helpful for me to specifically describe my use cases.

------------

Gmail. I've read that there aren't any issues getting gmail on the phone. As long as it syncs both ways I should be fine. But I'm wondering about how Gmail's labels work. Do they all show up? Do they show up as folders? What is the functionality with using them? Also, I often switch between my personal gmail and my .edu address (that is managed by gmail too). Can I easily switch between my two email addresses should I need to compose or reply from a specific one?