How to back up contacts and apps?

WoWNyx

Jan 15, 2013
Visit site
Hi I'm using a Lumia 920.
I'm new to windows phone. Can some one kindly explain to me how i can back up all my contacts,apps, messages and arrangement of my tiles?

My contacts are multi linked from hotmail Facebook and Gmail.

Thanks!

BeaverJuicer

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
There is no need to. The phone by default will back up all your contacts, apps, messages, and most settings into the Cloud. The only thing it doesn't really back up is the arrangement of your tiles.

If you were to reset your phone, and then connect it again with your Hotmail account, everything will automatically restore as well (again, excepting the tile arrangement).

What I do to back up my tile arrangement is take screenshots, and save them to my SkyDrive.

WoWNyx

Jan 15, 2013
Visit site
Ohh so once my hotmail account is reconnected all my messages and apps will be downloaded instantaneously with out me going inti the app store to download them 1 at a time like Android ?

Well Microsoft MUST develop some way For users to back up their tile arrangement! The sole of the OS is based on the tiles and each tile is different on everyone phone!

BeaverJuicer

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
Ohh so once my hotmail account is reconnected all my messages and apps will be downloaded instantaneously with out me going inti the app store to download them 1 at a time like Android ?
Exactly. But the Apps will sometimes make me wait till I connect to a WiFi network to do so. Part of the data management thing it's got going on.

Well Microsoft MUST develop some way For users to back up their tile arrangement! The sole of the OS is based on the tiles and each tile is different on everyone phone!
I used to think like this... But every time I go in to arrange them, I never do it quite the same way, and always like it better than the last!

WoWNyx

Jan 15, 2013
Visit site