Considering WP*

megamaster5

Apr 18, 2013
Visit site
Hi everyone! I'm a current LG Optimus G user (previous iPhone 4S User) and I'm considering switching to WP8 in the coming 2 weeks. I'll have to get a device on May 1st, to be exact. I'm switching over to AT&T. I was just wondering, in comparison to Android, what are the pros and cons of WP8? I know notification center is an issue that should be fixed soon but what other things have you noticed?

Things that matter to me: Battery life. I'm a college student, so my phone lasting all day is important. But I understand if it can't for 14 hours. I usually have a computer to charge up with.
Messaging - Integrated messaging is awesome. But really just fluidity of the keyboard and messaging apps.
Facebook - Still essential for all my organizations and friends. But not for updates. I don't use push notifications. Just to check myself.
Twitter - I love twitter :( I'm guilty. But having a great twitter app.. necessity. Something like Falcon Pro would be great but I could live without it.
Something similar to Google Currents! I love reading articles, on tech and on Politics.

Screen size is also an issue. I'm deciding between the 8X and Lumia 920. Does the heftiness bother you, and are the Nokia Apps better?
Lastly, price. Both of these phones, refurbished, cost .99 cents. But new ones are only $50 right now. Much more affordable than GS4 and HTC One, which I also considered. 4.7 inches I think is just too big for me. But yeah, feel free to share your thoughts, and experiences, I'd love some input. I will indeed be going to check the phones out myself today and tomorrow as well for the physical build quality. I would get a Matte Lumia :)

Chris_Kez

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
I think you'll be fine with WP8. I switched from an iPhone 4 in November have been very, very happy.
  • Battery life was a little wonky out of the box, but the last few months I've had no problem making it through the day