Had an Affair with HTC One, Ran Back!

pavvento

Jan 6, 2012
Visit site
Hello,

I have been using a Windows Phone since December of 2011. As you can tell from my device history I tend to sample different devices from time to time. After reading reviews of the HTC One I decided I wanted to give Android another chance (my last phone was the Evo when it came out). After only two days I am returning it and happily going back to my 920. For those considering a similar switch (either way) I wanted to provide a quick synopsis of my thought making process.

Why I want to Stay With the One

Feel: This device is gorgeously crafted. The way they made it is beyond compliments, it is light, thin and feels strong.

Screen: Photos and text look amazingly crisp and clear.

Sound: The dual speakers aren't a gimmick, they really do sound amazing.

Extra integration: I absolutely love Google Now. I also love that when a calendar event comes up for someone's birthday it gives you the option of reaching out to them by whatever means you have in your contact list. It could be a text, call, email or Facebook/twitter message.

Apps: Obviously there are a ton of apps on Android that aren't on Windows, but I will miss GameCenter, AtBat, SideCar and Square Wallet. These apps are amazing and I pray they will come to WP sometime soon

Why I'm Happily Returning

Camera: The camera on the One is amazing, but I feel like the low-light on the 920 is much better.

Battery: I couldn't make it through a day with the One even with battery saver.

Lockups: Several times the One would become sluggish and I'd have to restart it. I've had to do this maybe 5 times with my 920 since November.

Integration: I don't know if it is due to my unfamiliarity with Android or the slickness of WP but it seemed that many things were an extra step or two more on the One than they are with my 920.