So I thought apps were supposed to be tombstoned in the background....?

jrdatrackstar1223

Aug 15, 2011
Visit site
So I decided to run a test: to pretend I was a novice, first time Windows Phone user that left background tasks on and apps "open" (as if I had come from an iPhone, where hitting the home button tombstones an app). I started Asphalt 5 and Modern Combat 4 and hit the Start button. I then put the phone to sleep and let it sit for an hour. It had lost around 10%, which leads me to believe the games were still running. I also have the following background tasks enabled (with Gas Buddy being the only one with live tiles)....

Asphalt 7
Bible
Gas Buddy (again, the only app with live tiles)
Here City Lens
Here Drive Beta+
Metrotube
Redbox Renter
Modern Combat 4

My have two questions:

1. Were the games truly suspended, and one app (or a combo of apps) really causing the drain...?

2. Does an app with a background task not run that background task unless a live tile is pinned (or the lock screen is set to the app)? For example, Metrotube's background task description says "Metrotube live tile updates"; does this mean it will not run the task since I don't have a live tile for it?

Also, after enabling all background tasks, I received a warning about battery life, so perhaps I answered my own question (lol), but just wanted insight. I was also wondering because I got someone to buy an HTC 8x, and explained how background tasks are handled better than Android (didn't want to eat my words lol). I'm sorry this has been asked a million times, but I thought that perhaps having a specific example could receive a pass for a new thread....

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
1. An app being suspended is not the same thing as an app being tombstoned, but technical issues aside, yes, your games were suspended (probably not tombstoned), and therefore not running or using battery power during that time.