Problem with mail client on windows phone 8

David Locke

Jun 24, 2013
Visit site
Hi All,

Not sure if this has already been raised although, i can't find a thread.

I am a newbie so please go easy on me :D

Right, i have linked my email accounts (hotmail or outlook as it refers to itself to these days) it works fine, the emails sync when a new email is received. However, a really annoying thing i have encountered is if i go onto my hotmail account on a laptop or another device and delete an email and then go back to my windows phone 8 inbox the email I deleted is still there. That wouldn't be a problem as a simple delete should solve it however, it comes back and cant be deleted. I have found out that if i go onto my laptop again and move it out of the deleted messages AND then go back to my windows 8 phone and delete it off there it then works.

Is there a way for me to set it up so they both speak to one another so which ever i delete the email off it will delete it off the other device?

i have an email account i use for spam and had over 300 junk emails which i deleted off my laptop and i did this the previous month of about 200 junk emails and now i cant delete them of my windows phone 8 email account so i have roughly 500 junk emails which cant be deleted i have had to unlink the account for the time being.

Hope this information helps and someone can get back to me soon

Regards,

David

stmav

Retired Moderator
Sep 18, 2012
Visit site
How often do you have it set up to sync from your phone? If I delete something from outlook.com it deletes from my phone on the next sync. I just checked and deleted one on my laptop, it was still on the phone, hit the sync button, and it was deleted.

tk-093

Aug 30, 2010
Visit site
So are you saying you have your Outlook account on two mobile devices and if you delete an email on one of those secondary devices, it syncs it to the cloud, but not back down to the other device?