What is Microsoft doing?

MyFingID

Jul 2, 2013
Visit site
So quick about me; I'm a software developer at a large company. I saw Windows 8 originally as a nightmare, but decided it was best to stay on the edge, and the best way to do that is to fully immerse yourself. To that end I upgraded my home machine to win8. I got used to it and looked at app development. Turns out it uses C# (my primary language) and win8 apps are cross platform. I bought a touch screen laptop and a win8 phone to help with the process, excited about the possibilities unlocked by easily being able to share information between devices over the net!

Well, turns out MS doesn't take kindly to the independent developer , nor to the win8 phone. Let me start by saying that I'm writing this on my phone, and I'm surprised because I can't use my phone to send messages on my usual forum; clicking the text field causes the keyboard to flash up then down and that's it. Another fun experiment was trying to move a file from the SkyDrive to my phone. I was doing this because I was trying to RDP to my home system via a 3rd party program. For some reason Microsoft didn't include a Remote Desktop program, nor did they include a file browser, both items I would have assumed would be on a phone made by the same company that not only created the worlds most popular operating (and file browsing) system but also touts how its new product line works so well together!