10-11-2013 09:38 AM
63 123
tools
    I'm not a developer, but it goes beyond brand loyalty or getting money to develop it. While I believe money is a large issue, it's about *continuing* to make money. Consider this...

If it were that easy to develop an app and all that was involved was getting your dev team to do so, companies like Pocket and Waze (and several others) certainly have the means to do so. So it's not the fact that they need the money to develop it. They want money to maintain and grow it. And that comes from market share.

It's no secret that Microsoft is now 3rd on the charts not because they're making a thunderous headway, but because besides iOS and Android, who else is left? Blackberry is dead in the water waiting for a towline from someone. Sure, perhaps WP8 is gaining some attention and a bit of momentum lately, but there's still not enough market share. There's not *enough* people buying WP to make corporate companies want to develop and *maintain* for WP. If you had only 3 stocks you could invest in, would you invest in the bottom one?

I, for one, like my L928. I can't say I love it. But I'm very happy with what MS is doing and I'm going to stick this baby out and see where the ride goes. But we need more interest in our OS if we expect corporate companies to develop for us. It's all about the long haul, not the initial investment.
    nohra, MikeSo and svenhassel like this.
    10-08-2013 07:44 AM
    You missed my main point -

I know that some companies have no issue using WP and that it works for them. However at my company they wouldn't adpot it. This is due to the inability to disable Skydrive easily and some other bits. As long as 'high level' security is neeeded, WP will be a distant 4th for take up for enterprise. BB is still the phone of choice currently. I have little doubt they would go for WP if they felt it was secure enough.