Lack of "corporate" apps is killing WP

Hydrated

Jul 19, 2013
Visit site
I've been using WP since January 2013, and I really like the OS and the WP/Win8 infrastructure.

I've been an evangelist for WP8... and I've convinced 4 close friends to try the WP8 platform. And yesterday the last of those 4 jettisoned their WP8 devices and went back to their iOS or Android devices.

All 4 of those people left WP8 for the same reason... lack of the apps that they wanted/needed. There are many apps to cover what I call silly apps... Youtube... Pandora... Instagram... etc... but what is missing in almost every case are what I call "corporate apps". Mobile banking... store discount apps... website mobile access apps...

I've pretended that not having these apps was no big deal... but I'm fooling myself. Using the mobile websites for my banks and investment brokers is a poor substitute and lacks the functionality of their mobile apps. My banks offer mobile deposits and bill pay through their mobile apps... but this is difficult or impossible through their mobile websites... and using the full websites is too cumbersome on a small phone screen.

So I don't know what the future of WP holds. I have had great experiences with the OS itself... it's smooth and stable. But I must admit that I'm tempted to bail on WP myself if the situation doesn't change with corporate app support.

Has anyone else had problems with those corporate apps being absent or unsupported?

SwimSwim

Feb 1, 2013
Visit site
Well, it's hardly like Microsoft can push a magic button and make those apps appear, otherwise they would've a long time ago.

Yes, the app support on Windows Phone does leave something to be desired, but it's up to early adopters like us to stick it out, grow the market share, which will in turn, attract developers. I know it's kind of annoying, but what else are we to do?

RN50

Dec 26, 2012
Visit site