Lack of "corporate" apps is killing WP

ohgood

Aug 20, 2011
Visit site
I've been using WP since January 2013, and I really like the OS and the WP/Win8 infrastructure.

I've been an evangelist for WP8... and I've convinced 4 close friends to try the WP8 platform. And yesterday the last of those 4 jettisoned their WP8 devices and went back to their iOS or Android devices.

All 4 of those people left WP8 for the same reason... lack of the apps that they wanted/needed. There are many apps to cover what I call silly apps... Youtube... Pandora... Instagram... etc... but what is missing in almost every case are what I call "corporate apps". Mobile banking... store discount apps... website mobile access apps...

I've pretended that not having these apps was no big deal... but I'm fooling myself. Using the mobile websites for my banks and investment brokers is a poor substitute and lacks the functionality of their mobile apps. My banks offer mobile deposits and bill pay through their mobile apps... but this is difficult or impossible through their mobile websites... and using the full websites is too cumbersome on a small phone screen.

So I don't know what the future of WP holds. I have had great experiences with the OS itself... it's smooth and stable. But I must admit that I'm tempted to bail on WP myself if the situation doesn't change with corporate app support.

Has anyone else had problems with those corporate apps being absent or unsupported?

Would you mind a more thorough interview with your friends , to tell us the positives and negatives in more details?

Hydrated

Jul 19, 2013
Visit site
I know this is more concentrating on the 'app' issue but you mentioned 'corporate' apps. I'd just like to add my two cents worth here. Not only is the lack of corporate apps an issue, the fact that they haven't made the phone enterprise ready is a big downfall. WP should have been positioned to replace BB instead it appears they concentrated on the consumer market more.