Tethering android tablet to Lumia 1020 using tether x?

anapollosun

Dec 29, 2013
Visit site
Please forgive me, i am new to most of this, but... I have found an app called tether x, which allows for WiFi tethering, but it only shows an example of connecting to a PC. I just want to know if its possible to piggyback my Nexus 7 onto my WP8 device.

It appears that an ad-hoc WiFi router needs to be created due to WP8 limitations, however, I am having a hard time finding one for android - or I may be looking in the wrong places. I understand this is a wp8 forum, but I am just wondering if this is even possible

Greywolf1967

Nov 16, 2013
Visit site
Please forgive me, i am new to most of this, but... I have found an app called tether x, which allows for WiFi tethering, but it only shows an example of connecting to a PC. I just want to know if its possible to piggyback my Nexus 7 onto my WP8 device.

It appears that an ad-hoc WiFi router needs to be created due to WP8 limitations, however, I am having a hard time finding one for android - or I may be looking in the wrong places. I understand this is a wp8 forum, but I am just wondering if this is even possible

In your Windows Phone 8 device, just goto Settings/Internet Share and turn it on......there is a default Network Name and Pass ( which can be changed to what you wish), then much like setting up your tablet on your home wi-fi you tap connect and enter in pass word.

No extra software should be needed.

P.S. I have my phone's unlimited data as back up for when my home network drops out from time to time. The phone can handle up to 8 other devices through WiFi hot spot.

Last edited:

ohgood

Aug 20, 2011
Visit site

The device that will be fed via WiFi doesn't need a special app, just turn on WiFi.

Malcolm Clement

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site