So i finally tried WP.

Ivin Laney

Jan 15, 2014
Visit site
To give a quick backstory, I upgrade phones quite often. It's kind of a problem for my wife but it's one of my favorite hobbies. In saying that i will tell you I'm mostly OS agnostic (i tend to use the best device for me not the best device everyone else). I have a 27 inch iMac and MBA (running windows 8 and Unbuntu through VM when necessary) , an iPad, a couple android tablets, an Xperia Z Ultra GPE, a 5s, an HTC one GPE (daily driver), but have never gotten to experience a WP. For the past month i decided to run a Lumia 521. Sadly, it came to an untimely death at some point during a drunken super bowl sunday. At least it was only $60. Here is my experience.

APPS

I really didn't find too many deal breakers beyond my normal repertoire of Google apps. My biggest scare was that I would have no way to read my news through the Pulse news app. I found Weaver to be more than adequate for my needs. My only issue was the Youtube app. Before you point Metrotube and youtube Hd in my face as being superior, consider my use case. I own several chromecast dongles and none of those apps include the ability to cast apps to them that the stock app has just kills it for me. So while those apps are more than adequate for on the go youtube viewing, i just missed that functionality. I also really missed clash of clans, my PS4 companion app, and Google Now but i know i can't fault WP specifically for that :)

The OS