Email ? Gmail -> Outlook

nasellok

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
So, Im new to Windows Phone, I followed advise on other threads on how to forward my Gmail to my Outlook account. Now im left with a little bit of a mess on my phone, and am looking for some suggestions.

I have Gmail currently being forwarded to Outlook.com email, it automatically goes to a folder which I named GMAIL. In order to see this folder's contents on my phone, I need to tap the lower right corner (3 dots) and select folders, and then select Gmail. The contents of this folder will not show up in "All" within the Inbox. Ive found that the only way to get my Gmail account emails to show up in my "All" view is to create "Google" account in Settings/email + account, and then to link that to my inbox. This has inherently caused some issues which I need some help with.

My Outlook, and Gmail emails are both showing up in "all" view of the "Linked Inbox", but when opening a gmail email, it doesn't mark as read anywhere but on the phone. If I log into Outlook, it shows all the emails in the "Gmail" folder as being unread. If I log into Gmail, nothing in the "Inbox" shows up as read. It seems the only way to get the emails to delete, and show as read/unread is to go through the "Gmail" folder within outlook (using the 3 dots). Is there any way to just move this folder to the outlook.com inbox or to have it show up in the "all" view? It will only let me move it below inbox, and the email just come into the Gmail Folder.

Also from what ive noticed, if I delete a Gmail email from within Outlook.com, it does not delete the email from Gmail itself, only from the gmail inbox on outlook.com. My guess, as to the best way to get the mail to sync across the board would be to remove my Gmail forwarding from Outlook, and then just have the "Linked email" folder, keeping them as separate accounts (this may wind up being better, as it seems WP 8.1 will have better support for Gmail built in)