Questions from an Android user

Gino Guillermo

Sep 4, 2013
Visit site
Hi there.

I am currently studying the possibility of getting a Windows Phone 8 smartphone. As someone who owned Android phones for 4 years my criteria (and standards) for getting a phone are build quality, camera quality, battery life, customisations, multitasking, music and audio quality & performance. These issues are very important to me especially in my present age/job/needs/likes.

I would like to ask about:

1. Photos - Now i heard photos are stored in the Albums folder is that correct? Is there a basic editing tool from within Windows Phone 8 (WP8)? Can i share my photos to Twitter, Instagram, Google+, Email, Dropbox, Evernote, etc. on-the-fly or do i still have to go to the app then look/upload the photo like what iOS is about?

2. Camera - Is there a quick camera icon toggle thingy in the lock screen (similar to iOS7.1 & Android 4.4.2) where i just swipe up to quickly launch the camera? How fast does the camera load up? Is it in an instant? I have heard about the Nokia Pro Camera with it's pseudo burst mode option but does WP8 has that very quick shutter button with zero lag when taking shots (in-between) much like the iPhone 5 & Galaxy S3?

3. Keyboard - Can i install 3rd-party keyboard apps in place of or on top of the standard WP8 keyboard? Are there emoji icons built-in to the standard WP8 keyboard? Is there a 1st-party or third-party app wherein you can swipe or slide your fingers on the keyboard for an even faster typing?

4. Customisations - Are there any customisations options of the lock screen and home screen where i choose what wallpaper i can put in there? Or customise the tiles colours, transparency or size?

5. Live Tiles - Live tiles are very unique to the Windows Phone OS. But i fear its a battery & resource hog. Can i stop it from "moving" to save battery?