Growing bored (and increasingly frustrated) with WP8?

Madam ImAdam

Jan 1, 2014
Visit site
Beginning to feel a bit like Microsoft is too slow to react to the market demands and that the honeymoon for this device may be over for me. Granted I am new to WP, only purchased my Lumia 1520 in December, but it feels like I have been waiting for the (official) 8.1 update FOREVER! (is it actually going to be released?!) I am starting to get the impression that many of the small things that bother me with this phone, well, the OS really, will be surpassed with the next iPhone, especially if it is larger than the current one.

I do like having a WP device and appreciate that they need all the support they can get. The WP community certainly seems more authentic and genuine than anything else out there. I enjoy this forum in particular and think that without it WP would be in much worse shape. They should actually be supporting you guys here more than then know! All questions seemed to get answered here as opposed to the official site.

Anyway, I suppose this is just a frustrated rant for having to wait for what seems like a very long time to get an update (8.1) that addresses some basic functionality.

jefbeard911

May 28, 2012
Visit site
Why wait. Just install the Preview foe. Developers 8.1. It's not a beta, its unofficially official....its simple to do. Search the forum and you'll find numerous instructions and tips.

It's worth the 20-30 minutes. It'll give you many new features (which I'm sure your aware of).

For what its worth, I find MS (and Nokia) to be very supportive. Of course some apps need improving, aka Xbox music, but they get regular updates.

Anyway, Han in there. The 1520 is great and the alternatives are not as good as they may sound.

Laura Knotek

Retired Moderator
Mar 31, 2012
Visit site
Thanks for your kind words about WPCentral.