Android user tied to Google Voice

LeoBloom.

Feb 13, 2012
Visit site
Hi,

Interested in switching over to WP7, since I've become more aware of Android's lack of polish, and am not interested in the iOS devices. I use Google Voice for its free SMS capabilities. Unfortunately, the excellent integration of GV into Android kinda ties me down to Android.

I'm wondering if any of you rely on Google Voice for something like this, and manage on a WP7 with a 3rd party application. Personally, I've heard that GoVoice is pretty good, but I wanted to get some input on how awkward it may be to have a set up like that. More specifically, I would need to use GoVoice to make outgoing calls with my GV number coming up on the recipient's caller ID, and I know GoVoice and other apps are capable of this, I want to know if it really breaks the flow of the WP7 philosophy (in terms of the people hub and what not).

I have no real experience with WP7 so please be nice :)

Judge_Daniel

Sep 7, 2011
Visit site
First of all, welcome and thanks for the interest in WP. It is nice to see that other people are realizing that it truly is a competitive third option.

My first experience with WP was with a free Samsung Focus I won from Bing.com. However, the Focus is made for AT&T and I was (and still am) on Verizon. Instead of selling the phone, I decided to use it Wifi-only since my current cell phone was getting really old. I decided to use GoVoice for texting (its typing is much, much smoother than my old phone) and it was pretty much flawless. It had push notifications, it still pushed through contacts, and it Google Voice allowed my texts to be sent to both phones.

That was last October through early December. I am fairly certain that GoVoice has been through a lot since then, but I am not able to comment on it, since I haven't used it.

I do know that it has call capabilities, though I am not sure how it works.

dtboos

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site