Speech enabled applications for WP8

RobChambers

Jul 20, 2013
Visit site
Hi everybody!

Three questions, I wondered if you could help me answer:
1.) Are there any specific apps you'd like to see speech enabled?
2.) Do you have any ideas for unique speech enabled applications?
3.) Is it generally acceptable to post notices of new apps here in this forum by the developers that create them?

A little more info...

In my day job, I'm a Group Program Manager at Microsoft, in the division that builds the speech features for WP, Xbox, etc... Outside of work, I also build apps for the phone. I've created a couple, in the store now, one's fairly new. I also aspire to help other devs learn how to either add speech to their apps, or build new speech apps, and I frequently blog on that topic on my MSDN blog.

Let me know what you think...

Thanks!

Last edited:

crash1989

Oct 30, 2012
Visit site
Hi,

Thanks for posting.

Yes, there are a lot of things I like to do using speech. I am in India, maybe some points below already have apps but certainly I couldn't find these in my region.

1 -- Social apps, a few sports apps, news , the possibilities are endless . For e.g. I really like to just say show me the latest scores and it should open up the latest scores page in the app. (I have a sports app and I am trying to integrate speech in a future update).
2 -- It would be cool idea to toggle wifi, cellular and a few more settings using speech controls.
3 -- Yes, you can head over to these forums http://forums.windowscentral.com/#windows-phone-developers , you have the developer spotlight and developer corner. You can post and highlight your creations there.

Cheers.

stmav

Retired Moderator
Sep 18, 2012
Visit site