Skype performance on high end devices?

PratikMade

Sep 30, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Skype and just started using it recently on my Nokia Lumia 520. But the problem with Skype app is that it's not smooth, takes too much time to process my command, messages are not in sync, images sent in group by people using other platform can't be displayed, no notification alerts. Does this happen on Lumia 1520 or 930 which has a considerable amount of ram?

xandros9

Nov 12, 2012
Visit site
not a high-end anymore, but Skype performs decently on my 920.

notifications have been mostly turned off, photos weren't really an issue.
and its also in sync.

its not blinding me with speed, nor is it as snappy as the text messages ex-hub, but it doesn't leave me wanting for the most part.

mathsisbest

Nov 1, 2014
Visit site
Skype is relatively fast on my Lumia 1520 & 930. Not too slow. Opens pretty quickly. I am getting notifications and not experiencing any of the problems you listed.

rockstarzzz

Apr 3, 2012
Visit site
930, 735, 720 - Skype is as good or bad as Messenger by Facebook. Chatting experience is similar on all three devices. 520 is low end. Skype needs resources to run in background. It's obvious it will struggle if you have other apps taking up RAM.

Using my Halloween Lumia 930.

Cryio

Oct 6, 2013
Visit site
For whatever reason, Skype on WP8.0 is ridiculously fast. Like faster than Messenger, WhatsApp, Telegram on a Lumia 820, therefore 1 GB device.

However as soon as I installed WP8.1 it slowed down significantly.

On WP8.0, I didn't even have to wait for it to load anymore, tap on app, very short resuming ( it always resumed even though the app wasn't open) screen and then everything was up to date in the app.

I hope WP10 will have all the necessary APIs to allow Skype to transition to a full, modern, WinRT universal app.

jwinch2

Jun 19, 2012
Visit site