Verizon: Nokia Lumia 822 vs HTC 8X

himurastewie

Nov 13, 2012
Visit site
Well said...I keep thinking I am crazy for getting the 822 over the DNA! It's not all about specs though as you said.

You're not. I had a Galaxy Note 2 on pre-order through VZW for two weeks before cancelling it and ordering a Lumia 822. I'm sure the DNA will be a lovely device, and from everything I've read and watched, the GNote2 is a lovely device also. But a little bit of soul searching and smoke-from-my-ears thinking I came to the conclusion that all those features and extra specs and this and that just don't add up for me and the way I use my phone. Yeah, it would be way cool to draw pictures and hand write notes with an S-Pen, but I'm an awful artist and my handwriting is atrocious. The best part of the S-Pen in my usage would be for using it as a hover for nested menus on web pages. That isn't worth $350 to me. Then add that awful brand on the home button, the delayed release, and a few other factors (the social awkwardness of a phablet is not one of them) I ultimately had to drop my pre-order. And yes, I was greatly tempted to dump VZW to the curb and grab a Note2 elsewhere, that's how much I wanted one.

I already went over my reasoning for choosing the 822 over the 8X and I suspect I'm not going to prove myself wrong, but in the case that I am, that's what the return period is for. Though, if I ultimately decide against the 822, I may just indulge and pick up that Note2 anyway. I'm currently using an HTC Incredible and I can say that I'm thoroughly tired of it. Maybe I'm having a little bit of anti-incumbent bias but at least in my own fantasy-land, my logic is solid. :)

MarineDawg

Nov 15, 2012
Visit site
When this devices were initially announced I concentrated my battle between the 8X and ATIV-S. SD card the ATIV was the clear winner without confirming it was going to essentially be a clone of the S-III or watered down. SD card trumps all.