Pros and Cons with Windows Phone 8

techgeek32#WN

Jul 11, 2008
Visit site
Hi Everyone,

I have used Windows Mobile phones since they were first created. I have been using Android devices for the last several years and participate in the forums over at Android Central. I am not a troll, but looking to offer some thoughts about my experience with the 8x compared to the old Windows Mobile and Android.

I have been using the 8x for a week now. There is a lot to love about this phone and a lot to hate. I will list the pros and cons that I have found see if some of the more experienced Windows Phone users on this forum can provide solutions.

Pros:

1. Excellent call quality through speaker and Bluetooth. This is one of the best phones I have owned in regards to call clarity, volume and Bluetooth connectivity with my Nissan Maxima 2012 model.

2. The size and feel of this phone is almost perfect for me. Maybe a 4.5" would have been even better. I have tried everything from an iPhone to the Droid DNA and everything in between. Excellent build quality.

3. Nice screen. Actually brighter and whiter than the Droid DNA that I am currently using. Text is sharp and colors more natural than what you get on OLED displays.

4. Fast and intuitive UI. This phone is very easy to use. I would not have a problem recommending a Windows 8 phone to my mom or others that aren't that technical. I believe this is what Microsoft was going for: to compete with the ease of the iPhone.

5. Wireless charging. I have missed this since my days with the Palm Pre and have been waiting for it to return again. I believe within the next two years almost every smartphone will have the Qi charging technology built in.

6. Microsoft Office capability. This is both a pro and a con. I will explain later.