How to take a good photo with the 920

ajorourke

Mar 30, 2012
Visit site
Hello everyone, I have seen several topics about the camera and how poor it is.

I agree with a lot of these comments, but only regarding the AUTO settings, which I hope to god Nokia/MS sort out ASAP.

I am not a professional in the slightest, I've just played with the settings a bit and if you know what you're doing, you can adjust all of those settings to get a great photo.

Scenes can dramatically change how a photo looks, I'd suggest that unless your 'scene' is well lit and there isn't much movement don't use Auto.

ISO again can really make a difference, if everything is well lit and you're not shaking like a granny use a lower ISO.

Exposure level helps with lighting as well, I've experimented with this and found that (depending on light sources around) -1 to -1 2/3 helps to reduce the glare from lights in night shots and make things a lot clearer.

The one setting I haven't really messed with is White balance.

Focus Assist Light helps with most shots I've found.

I'm sure there are others out there who know much more than I do about the settings and might be able to offer advice?

congusano

Nov 8, 2012
Visit site
Tap the screen to activate the shutter instead of using the dedicated camera button. Seems to focus much better that way.

Not better, just more precise.

Press the button and you'll see the focus area is larger...covering more focal planes. Press the screen and the focus area is smaller, thus focusing on a specific item you want.

ajorourke

Mar 30, 2012
Visit site
Not better, just more precise.

Press the button and you'll see the focus area is larger...covering more focal planes. Press the screen and the focus area is smaller, thus focusing on a specific item you want.

I didn't know this, that's quite useful. So using the button might help when taking landscape type photos?

congusano

Nov 8, 2012
Visit site