Ativ S screen rotation lock?

nifty5

Jan 20, 2013
Visit site
Hi,

I'm new to WP8 and have the Samsung Ativ S and so far like the phone. Very SGS3 from what I can tell but build quality & OS experience is great.

One thing that is really getting under my skin is my inability to find the screen rotation lock. Can anyone tell me where I can find this?

Using a TELUS version with OS 8.0.10211.204

Thanks for any help.

nifty5

Jan 20, 2013
Visit site
Windows Phone does not have this feature built into it's "system" options but dev can turn it off if they please

Wow that's crazy that it wouldn't be included. I have searched the marketplace for a App but can't seem to find one. Anyone able to suggest one?

This might come off as petty but if I can't lock the screen I could see myself not staying with WP8 because of it.

WavingReds

Jan 15, 2013
Visit site
Well when I said dev I meant within their own app.

I'm sure that Microsoft will add that feature in the future but if you can't deal with it then good luck with your new phone then.

poddie

Sep 12, 2011
Visit site
Yes. It sucks. There is no solution for now. As far as I can tell, MS doesn't even understand this is an issue.

WavingReds

Jan 15, 2013
Visit site
Yes. It sucks. There is no solution for now. As far as I can tell, MS doesn't even understand this is an issue.

I'm sure they do since all of their employees use WP, they are probably working on it for the Apollo+ update. Apple didn't even have this until I believe iOS 4.0 or 5.0 I believe because I had to jailbreak and install a mod for it.

poddie

Sep 12, 2011
Visit site
I'm sure they do since all of their employees use WP, they are probably working on it for the Apollo+ update. Apple didn't even have this until I believe iOS 4.0 or 5.0 I believe because I had to jailbreak and install a mod for it.

If they understood I don't think it would have taken 2 years and counting... coding-wise, this is pretty much the simplest task they could ask for.