Switched from a note to the 920 and mind-blown!

anon(5340442)

Apr 20, 2012
Visit site
Thank you for the welcome guys! I just discovered the Weave news reader and it is amazing! very strong flipboard alternative. Missing the 'COOL' swipes etc, but very easy to use. And its got the orientation lock. which is awesome.

If you're using the free version, a little tip - tap the ad, it will open the browser, then hit the back button (I don't even look at the page, I hit back right away). The rest of your session will be ad-free.

Cleavitt76

Jan 10, 2013
Visit site
The app gap people complain about is due to Microsoft not opening its API to developers. WP is a successful phone with users and interested developers but lack of open API API

As a developer I can say with certainty this is not the case at all. Microsoft has provided the best development tools, frameworks, and APIs for years. This is actually one of the main reasons MS was so successful in the desktop/server market. They made it relatively easy for third party developers to create useful programs. The WP platform is no exception.

The reason that WP is lacking in third party apps is because the WP OS was late to the party. It's a chicken and egg situation. Developers don't focus on apps for WP because it doesn't have a lot of market share. WP doesn't have a lot of market share because it doesn't have apps from developers. This isn't an impossible situation to overcome, but it does take time. At some point, as long as the platform continues to gain market share, it will reach a critical mass and apps will start showing up fast.

Jalik

Oct 10, 2011
Visit site
I have to admit, I've been slightly tempted in the other direction, solely because of the Note's Wacom pen. If the Android version of OneNote was more fully featured, I'd have already picked a Note up off eBay to attempt to use for a few weeks. Probably not as a full-time replacement, but still.