New Lumia, migrate apps and data, pretty darn cool

someoneinwa

May 7, 2011
Visit site
I experienced something I've never done before and was so impressed I just had to share. I needed to replace my Lumia 920 after a failure of part of the screen from one too many hard falls. Of course, I bought another Lumia 920. I reset the "old" one to factory settings, moved the SIM card to the new phone and turned it on. After signing in, I was offered the chance to Restore my phone or start over and I chose restore and then happily watched all of my photos and songs and docs and apps fill up the phone. The media files arrived quickly. The apps took a while and there were a few that wouldn't migrate at all, but nothing I was using any more. There were a few settings that didn't migrate, and I did have to arrange the tiles the way I wanted, but it was really cool to see the new phone have pretty much the same functionality of the old one without much effort on my part. I've seen my Start Screen settings move from on Windows 8 machine to another, but that really isn't as neat as watching all your media, data and apps move like magic.

blackbriar511

Jul 5, 2011
Visit site
I just got my cyan blue 920 yesterday, I couldn't migrate all of my apps because I was going from windows 7.5, but it was fun to see all of my contacts and photos from skydrive show up.

eshy

Sep 6, 2011
Visit site
It's even more impressive if you had more than one phone (you get multiple backups and when you reset and restore, it asks which one to restore). The only thing missing is backing up the start screen config and allowing apps to save certain things to a roaming data location that gets backed up. just so apps can backup settings as well.

someoneinwa

May 7, 2011
Visit site
Yes, I should have mentioned that too. All of my e-mail, texts, and voicemails (including messages I hadn't listened to yet and my voicemail history) all moved to the new phone as well! Neat stuff!

EggoEspada

Sep 20, 2012