920 or 8X

lcw731

May 29, 2012
Visit site
I have been using an HTC 8x for several months, and loving the Windows Phone OS. Yesterday, my wife was watering some plants and they over flowed and got into my phone. I tried the rice trick, but It is now fried and I will need to replace it. Since I have the opportunity should I go with the 920 or stick with the 8X. I have really enjoyed the 8X, but it looks like Nokia may be a little more serious about supporting the Windows OS. So what are the pros and cons of the 920 (other than more memory), should I stick with what I know, or go with something new? Sound off, I look forward to reading the arguments for the 920. Thanks!

Psyk00

Apr 1, 2013
Visit site
+ camera!, high sensivity touch, great screen, solid build
- you might get a unit that collects dust in FFC and gaps between screen and the body or with/and crackling unibody

I would go for something new.

enzom09

May 8, 2013
Visit site
I have the 8X and slightly regret getting it mainly because HTC is terrible at supporting their phones. The device itself is light, beautiful, etc...but I think the 920 is better.

1. Although it is heavier, it isn't heavy. The extra weight makes it feel more solid I believe and the polycarbonate of the 920 doesn't chip the way the 8X does (as happened with mine)
2. Color options of the 920 are infinitely better (personally a sucker for both cyan and yellow, whereas the neon yellow green and california "blue" aren't as nice)
3. Better camera, and it will improve with the amber update they're supposed to be getting
4. Speaking of updates, you'll get more support from Nokia than you will from HTC, especially as they are dumping everything into the HTC one right now.
5. More storage, 32gb over 16gb, which comes in handy since the 8x still hasn't resolved the "other" storage issue which will make that 16gb shrink a lot faster