Lumia 1020 is not a worthy upgrade

jaimeastin

Apr 8, 2012
Visit site
I slightly disagree. I love my 920, but I would love to have the 1020. I am not a professional photographer, but I like to take pictures.

For years, I scoffed at the idea of taking pictures with a phone... I had a point and shoot and my dslr. Well, as the phones pics got better, so did my phone. Just to go a year back, focus-900-920. I gave my point and shoot away 2-3 years ago. My dslr is too big to carry all the time.

Nokia has done me well with the phone and camera. I absolutely love WP7/8. I gave up my IOS and android devices years ago too.

Bottom line, I am really considering getting the 1020. It would be great to have. The camera is enough of an upgrade if you can do it or you can see it being useful.

I agree hardware wise, it is old/current, but since has windows phone been spec at the max? Have we complained too much?! I wish the battery was better, but no deal breaker. Wireless charging... Yeah, you can use the case, but how many cases and accessories will one need to buy for this phone? The only thing holding me back is a real "new" phone in the 3rd/4th qtr.

Reflexx

Dec 30, 2010
Visit site
The camera tech in the 1020 is amazing.

It is not a 920 upgrade. It is a new series for people who put the camera as their main priority on the phone.

In that regard, it's a HUGE upgrade over anything on the market. Nothing else at retail comes close.

When it comes to upgrade time, and the next gen of phones are out, we'll have the choice of the 9xx series of 10xx series. And the only difference might be the camera.

I will say that I am not getting the 1020. And it's not because I don't think it's a great phone.

I am disappointed in the lack of wireless charging. I don't want to make my wireless chargers useless. I also dont want to spend extra money for a wireless charging shell. I hope that the next ten will include wireless charging.

JustToClarify

Mar 11, 2013
Visit site