Phone Melted While Charging

david90531

Aug 29, 2011
Visit site
Not really off topic but kinda.. Does anyone know where to buy a replacement stock USB cable? I've lost mine along with the adapter charger :(

N_LaRUE

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site
I'm a electrical engineer and have seen it before. Search for a tear down of a 920 and look where the micro USB connector is. There are no active components to go bad and flame out.
Not saying 100% that's what happened, but it sure looks that way.

And, I never watch CSI :)

I thought about this some. I have to agree this is a distinct possiblity, the micro USB connector might be more prone to this, though you'd have to really give it a shove.

rdubmu

May 25, 2011
Visit site
Any updates on what best buy did. Sorry if it was posted already. I only saw you were planning to go to BB

Sent from my RM-820_nam_att_100 using Tapatalk

uselessrobot

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
There's no way in hell that's a Nokia cable. Nokia's cable is squared off. Only Chinese made crap feature the flexible ridges at the base of the plug. I also don't think it was plugged in backwards, you'd have to be forcing very hard and break stuff in the process. I guess it's not impossible, people are capable of anything, but it's highly unlikely.

There's nothing on that end of the phone that would overheat on it's own. Typically, the two things that warm up during charging are the battery and the plug at the wall. If the battery overheats you normally get an explosive reaction and it wouldn't happen at the USB port.

What this looks like is a bad contact in the plug which results in a short. This is not much different than a short in an outlet, which causes similar excessive heat and melting of plastics, when you don't get a fire outright. This reinforces my suspicion that it's a crappy Chinese plug.