Lets talk about Smartphone Photography

maverick786us

Sep 17, 2012
Visit site
Nokia always has been a pioneer in smartphone cameras. It started with first ever 1MP camera 7610 followed by first ever 2MP camera with autofocus (N90). Then came revolutionary N95, first ever 5MP camera.

But the real thing started with N8. Which is a 12MP camera with amazing image quality. Followed by 808 that can bring any standalone point of shoot camera on its knees, 920 first ever OIS and finally 1020 with implementation of Windows and OIS into 808.

When we compare an 808 and 1020. 808 has a bigger sensor, compared to 1020. But still the daylight photographs are same. I believe there are few factors, that made 1020 produce the same daylight quality pic over 808, even with a smaller sensor. Some of those factors could be...

1) better processor,
2) some image processing mechanism
3) Aperture size
4) focal length

Since I am not an expert in optics. So these are my guess.

Technically is it possible, that in future Nokia reduce the thickness of camera hump, make it similar to 925, 1520 and produce the same image quality like 1020 and have same features like 3-5X lossless zoom, by reducing the sensor size, but with a better processor and other factors that, I've mentioned above.

Please share your opinion.

tgr42

Jul 31, 2012
Visit site
Personally I think the hump size of the 1020 is acceptable. Sure it'd be nice for it to be smaller but that's very very low priority in my opinion, and not worth sacrificing anything to get. My wishlist for the camera, using the 1020 as a starting point, is as follows:

• reduce sensor noise - particularly when shooting video
  • improve performance of camera startup time and shot capture/processing time
  • work out the camera/photo-related software problems with both Nokia software and WP in general - mainly lack of flexibility but also some poor UI, bugs, and limitations on third party camera apps