1520 Initial Thoughts and Nokia Camera Questions

wsrobert

Nov 14, 2012
Visit site
Switched over from the 920 to the 1520 and so far am loving most about it. As a daily driver I was worried about the size of the device, as most are I assume, but it hasnt yet to pose a problem. Though I think when summer rolls around that might change. With the cold/winter setting in, I've always got a jacket on which gives me a place for the device. But it does seem to fit well enough in my jeans. I guess I'll have to wait and see.

I've been spending a LOT of time with the camera since thats obviously one of the big selling points and have so far been impressed. I dont have my 920 anymore but do have a Nexus 5 at the moment that I've also been shooting with and doing quite a bit of comparisons (only way to get anything close to the image quality of the 1520 on the nexus is to always shoot in HDR+ mode - and it still falls short in most situations). I've got a couple observations and a few questions though surrounding the camera. Disclaimer: I'm no photographer. But do enjoy nice photography.

Observations:

• It seems as if the auto mode doesnt quite capture as much light as my 920. Almost as if the software on the 1520 defaults to a darker image/lower iso/faster shutter speed. Not really sure. If I take it out of auto and start to tinker, I can do a little better. Its also noticeable if you're shooting in low light and take one photo using Nokia Camera and then one with the stock Camera app. After using the 1520 in tandem with the nexus 5 and because of the limitation of only being able to view a 5 meg sample on your device (touched on below) I really find myself wishing the camera app had an HDR+ mode.