Lumia 1520 Issues (non-defects)

HyperMatrix

Dec 16, 2013
Visit site
So I've had my phone for a little over 2 weeks now. Played with a lot of settings. Downloaded a lot of apps. And in general tried to see how the phone compares to other devices. For the record I have 4 years experience working as the data prime for a telecommunications company in Canada and have a lot of hands-on time with various handsets. I'm not going to post a "wish list" of features I'd like but rather point out things that I would not have expected to be an issue to begin with. To be clear these are things that affect each and every Lumia 1520, and are not caused by defects or malfunctions that should be warrantied. There is already a sticky thread on that. Here goes:

1) WiFi Connectivity. The Lumia 1520 is equipped with 802.11ac spec WiFi. While ac spec doesn't increase the transmission range compared to wireless N, it allows higher speeds more evenly throughout the range. So I was quite excited for this. My iPad Air and Nvidia Shield are both 802.11N, but use MIMO to double the transfer rate. Maximum throughput between the 2 appears to be identical. When downloading from the web, I was able to achieve roughly 120mbps. It's important to note that this test was not about maximum in-network data transfer and I should technically get higher speeds if transferring a file from a device connected to my router. The point is to show that download speeds are sufficient, when there is coverage. However, for some reason the superior WiFi on the Lumia 1520 is limited in range compared to the lower spec WiFi found on other devices. So in areas where I have 3 or 4 bars with other devices on Wireless N, I will only have 1 or 2 bars with the Lumia 1520. So in comparison to my iOS and Android devices, I find the WiFi to be more finicky when it comes to range/reception, but in areas with good reception the performance is top notch.