Niggles Versus iPhone - Advice Needed

MikeBee49

Jan 26, 2014
Visit site
Hi all,

I'm new to the Lumia 920. Just picked one up last weekend as a trial to replace my iPhone 5 with a Windows Phone device. So far it's working in most of the use cases, but there are a few really annoying things that I find with it compared to the iPhone. I'm after some advice on how to improve these as in general I quite like it.

1. Screen brightness is too low on 'auto' and when switching auto off the control is too granular. Is there any way to change this?
  2. Music playing apps suck. I've tried the Nokia Music, the Xbox one, Listen and Cool Music Player. None of them really do simple things well like the default app in iOS. I just want to load up, select an album and have it play but the Nokia one bombards me with local gigs and related mixes that I don't care about. The Microsoft one I have to go through loads of screens just to get to music and the others just don't 'feel' like a Metro-style app.
  3. Browser. Again IE11 is okay but tab support is kind of crappy compared to Safari. I've tried UC Broswer and Surfy, but again none of them have simple things optimised like switching between tabs easily. None of them have a 'back' button on the broswer and the back button on the phone often just quits me out of the app rather than going back a page.

Any advice appreciated!

Mike.

k0de

Nov 24, 2013
Visit site
Welcome to Windows Phone. I won't say niggles but different and alien to you. Like yourself after spending a few years with iOS I migrated to Windows Phone. In the beginning my biggest obstacle was not learning Windows Phone but rather unlearning iOS. These platforms are very different. The only advice I have for you is to stop comparing the two platforms. And if you are serious to take WP8 for a