Windows 8 - seriously? Tethering is great though

PiggyMiddle

Mar 19, 2014
Visit site
We must be stuck in 1996. The 520 arrived yesterday and after a lot of time with it so far, I have to say, What???

It is like stepping back to the early Palm Pilot era. If this is as good as it gets then I am back to Android. That's a bummer as I am a programmer and have installed the win8 phone SDK to develop some apps for my own use. The Android SDK is horrible by comparison, but looks like I am going back to it.

The only good thing I have found with the 520 and win8 is Tethering or "Internet Sharing" My Moto X is disgustingly poor at that and the 520 with win8 is awesome. So now I have a decision to make, use the 520 with the crappy win8 and great Tethering or use the great Moto X with damned-awful Tethering.

Coreldan

Oct 2, 2012
Visit site
You might want to say WP8 or Windows Phone 8, cos this really has nothing to do with Windows 8 itself.

But yes, internet sharing is great, but I don't know what is your problem other than that. Sure, it isn't as capable as Android, but I feel as a user experience it's mostly superior.

PiggyMiddle

Mar 19, 2014
Visit site
What exactly is your gripe with Windows Phone?

1:
Plain Start screen, square blocks with cryptic names.
This
Nokia-Lumia-520-front-png.png
or this
77822d1377376988t-lets-see-your-moto-x-homescreens-screenshot_2013-08-24-13-34-59.jpg
2:
The screen space is larger than the viewing window. On my 520, the "Right-arrow" is half obscured at the bottom. Either remove the arrow or make the screen fit the viewing window.
3:
"Requires," for Apps. The devs must have a "Select all" option as most apps I looked at wanted an heinous amount of freedom with my phone and data. Why does a card game need access to my camera and microphone for?
4:
The entire things is clunky to use, just to name a few.
{edit1}
5:
No Firefox browser
6:
Terrible assortment of apps like Our Groceries for Android.
7:
IE is Awful.
{/edit1}

Last edited: