Newbie Alert, Proud owner of the 1020

nordon1973

May 3, 2014
Visit site
Hello all. New to the forums, Windowsphone central and to my lovely shiny yellow Nokia Lumia 1020.
My reason in posting is for advice, tips settings advice, the lot really. My friend help me update to 8.1 via the preview thingy lol.
Loving the camera & slowly working around the OS, luckily stumbling upon this website.
I'd love peoples views and help from apps to camera settings etc.m
Any help would be truly very gratefully received.
I apologise if I've started this thread wrongly. Like I said I'm new to all this.
Many thanks!

buxz777

Mar 5, 2013
Visit site
id have a read through the forums play with your new gadget and get back to us with some more defined questions that we can help with you ;-) but how are you enjoying your new phone , I must say I do love my 1020 ;-)

hope4wp

Jan 16, 2014
Visit site
welcome to WPC!
first! Install HD Photo Viewer 8.1 since the apps are not shown in full resolution in the default photo hub!
there are certain apps for editing if you like to edit....like Nokia Creative Studio, Fantasia Painter. there are others too, I like these two the most!
you can change the uploading settings....they upload the full resolution pics only through wi-fi......again there's an option to which quality pictures you want to upload..!!
I've dropped my phone a couple of times....let's say I've slippery hands...and there's a small dent at the corner of the phone....hope you've a case!
and if ever you hear a whirring or any sound from your phone don't be scared, it's just the ball bearings in the camera! It's amazing!
hope you enjoy it :)

Kellzea

Oct 3, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to the party 😊 gz on such an astute purchase.

As for tips, make sure your camera is set to Nokia camera as default (not wp camera).

Have a play with OneDrive if you haven't used it yet, it's fantastic and plays very nice with wp.