Considering switching from android. Concerned about maps .

gmcole

Apr 28, 2014
Visit site
I am considering switching from android. I have a 2year old Motorola droid maxx that has slowed to a near stop. I am not a big app user or gamer. However, I do have a couple of concerns. I am a consultant and drive about 50,000 miles a year, mostly in Ohio, Michigan and Pennsylvania .I do a lot of Google searches for directions,phone numbers and information. I also use google voice to make calls while driving etc.
I can live with some growing pains in other areas but I can't sacrifice on the search/navigation piece.

When using Cortana, what maps does the icon use ? How do they compare to google maps in terms of accuracy and integration etc.?
When doing a google search, I can go to the website, navigate to that point or call with one touch. I don't want to give that up.

Please advise.

Thanks
Jeff in Ohio

oditius

Nov 19, 2012
Visit site
All Nokia's have Here + Maps, which you can run using data, or if you are in a WiFI zone you can download it on to your phone. I would go here and see what the maps are like. Cortana is still new, but will be better polished when 8.1 is released. She can make calls, send text as it is. I have done so.

prasath1234

Oct 28, 2013
Visit site
If u are a app fanatic then u will regret your purchase so as a safer option keep also your android.

Sent from my C2305 using WPCentral Forums mobile app

Abu Barrett

Apr 20, 2013
Visit site
Even tho im a nokia/WP fan, i know google maps are the best free map service out there. Maybe you could borrow a friends wp or something to try here maps, they've worked fine for most of us, but your standards are probably higher if we are talking about maps

pankaj981

Jul 10, 2012
Visit site