Update to 8.1 DP as soon as I get the phone?

diego9016

May 6, 2014
Visit site
I'll finally get my Lumia 1520 in a few hours, and I was wondering if you guys recommend updating my phone to the 8.1DP as soon as I get it or better wait a few days to do it?

Thanks in advance.

azteca911

Mar 2, 2014
Visit site
I'm waiting for the official consumer release. Let them work out the bugs. I'm still learning all the cool stuff in Windows 8.

a5cent

Nov 3, 2011
Visit site
If you are going to wait, then wait for the official release.

If you intend to install the developer preview before the official release, then do it now, while you are free to do hard resets without loosing anything. IMHO anyone that isn't willing to do a hard reset (at least once after installation) shouldn't install the developer preview at all.

Last edited:

Rhoyz

Dec 23, 2011
Visit site
I'll finally get my Lumia 1520 in a few hours, and I was wondering if you guys recommend updating my phone to the 8.1DP as soon as I get it or better wait a few days to do it?

Thanks in advance.

Make sure your apps (including camera apps) and system apps (glance, network + etc) are up to date first. Do a couple of restart and update.

Planet X

Jan 15, 2013
Visit site
I'm in the same boat like diego9016. Any minute the doorbell will ring and it will be delivered. If you do a hard reset after install 8.1 DP will that help with gaming performance? I really like the features of WP 8.1 but gaming is also important for me.

JamesPTao

Sep 8, 2013
Visit site
I wouldn't wait. Although I agree with royz. Make sure everything is up to date first. I have had 8.1 beta for several weeks and love it. Have only had one bug which was minimal and didn't affect performance. Fixed it myself, so can't say if first update for dv wp8.1 wohl have done it for me. If you don't like it you can revert back to wp8.

ak_r7

Dec 7, 2012
Visit site
Finally got my Lumia 1520 last night... This thing is huge! I love it!

Awesome, congrats :)