New ICON owner wanting to upgrade to DP8.1

mikeyqp

Jul 28, 2014
Visit site
hello all, I recently got my ICON a week ago, and have been waiting for the official 8.1 update since. Obviously, I'm tired of waiting so i wanted to update via the developers preview. However after reading a few threads, I've become a bit hesitant to upgrade and I'm in need for a little reassurance lol. Here are my concerns:

1) battery life is said to be dramatically decreased

2) upgrading to the official 8.1 from 8.1dp would require downgrading to 8.0 via hard reset (I'm a novice when it comes to this kind of stuff and it follows that that's a potential headache i would like to avoid)

3) 8.1dp is generally stable?

4) I had a couple more concerns, but I?m drawing a blank right now =p

Lastly, are there any other pertinent steps, aside from the normal 8.1dp update procedure, that you guys think I should do before or after I upgrade?

moegumby

Nov 25, 2012
Visit site
Don't do it, it over heats with location services turned on and lags. Wait for the official update to cyan.
Sent from my Verizon Icon

mikeyqp

Jul 28, 2014
Visit site
Don't do it, it over heats with location services turned on and lags. Wait for the official update to cyan.

ehhh... From the looks of it, we don't even know if the update is soon. It could be in a month or two. Kind of frustrating.

Kasey Pierce

Jan 28, 2013
Visit site
I hope not! Lol I haven't upgraded yet.. And I'm in dire need of that notification center and the swype counterpart