New Icon owner with a Windows 8 question

raqball

Aug 27, 2014
Visit site
I am new to Windows phone as this is my 1st. So far I really like the Icon!

I did a lot of research before buying it and I also checked out a few other Windows phones on other carriers but I settled for the Icon due to it's specs, screen and size.

I've had the Icon on VZW for a week now and I am confused as to which version I should be on. When I check for updates it says my phone is up to date. My version is: Software Version 8.0 and OS Version 8.0.10521.155

Is this the most recent VZW update? I ask because in reading this forum I see people from months ago say they are on 8.1.

Also I've done a factory reset as I recently had a ton of Store updates. After doing the store updates my email (outlook) would no longer sync and I'd get an error code constantly. Since the reset and without the store updates, the email has been fine. Is there a store update I should avoid?

Thanks!

raqball

Aug 27, 2014
Visit site
Thanks.

I won't install the store updates again as something fishy is going on.

Phone worked great out of the box --> install updates from store --> email constantly failed to sync with error code 80072EFD.

Reset phone and everything worked great again --> install updates from store -> constant fail to sync email again with the same error code.

Factory reset again and everything is fine. I am showing the updates available in the store again but I am not going to update this time.

Blkacesvf41

Nov 22, 2012
Visit site
Hmmm... Are you talking about updates from the Windows Phone store or Verizon updates? Updating the apps that you have shouldn't be affecting your email that way. I'd probably delete my email account, do the updates and then re-add my email account.

raqball

Aug 27, 2014
Visit site
Updates from the Windows Store. I don't think I've had any Verizon updates.

Right now the store is showing the following updates:

Nokia StoryTeller
Backup Assistant Plus
Here Maps