Broken Glass Replacement

rudypoochris

Mar 1, 2014
Visit site
Hi Guys,

I dropped my 1520 and the glass cracked. Surprised since I have owned ~30 phones and never had the glass crack once in my life - thought that was for iPhones only! In either case, I ordered the following replacement screen:

USA New Nokia Lumia 1520 Outer Glass Touch Screen Digitizer Lens Panel Parts | eBay

But all the videos I see on Youtube show fix it guides that replace the entire back plate of the LCD screen.

Does anyone have a guide? How hard of a fix is this? I am an engineer and rather mechanically inclined, but want a sense if this is going to be impossible.

Thanks!

xerose

Oct 23, 2014
Visit site
I was in the same boat and did extensive research and unfortunately the LCD is glued to the digitizer/glass unlike the Nokia 920. You will need to replace the whole glass, digitizer, lcd assembly or use expensive tools to separate the lcd from the digitizer and glass and risk cracking the lcd screen.

The cheapest I could find was 179.00 for the full assembly part on ebay shipped from china. I decided to just send it to Palco cell phone repair for 219.00 dollars including insured return shipping and let them fix it with a part guaranteed to be OEM. Palco did a great job just like new...

rudypoochris

Mar 1, 2014
Visit site
That sucks. I guess the part I ordered is a waste then. I am just going to go to the MS store tomorrow and ask them what to do. If it is more than the $209 on Palco then I'll just deal with it myself. Ridiculous it costs this much to fix a glass face that they raised above the edge of the phone. Whats that about anyway.

jontyrees

Sep 20, 2012
Visit site