[Help] Strongly considering a Windows Phone.

threewulfmoon

Nov 24, 2014
Visit site
After about a year of using my iPhone 5c, I am ready to move on to something bigger and better, and less proprietary. I am strongly considering switching over to a device running Windows Phone 8.1. It makes sense. I use a Windows PC for work, carry a Windows 8 tablet (Asus Vivotab--love the stylus) to meetings, and have a smaller Dell Venue Pro 8 at home for personal use. I am especially excited about Microsoft's recent integration with Dropbox, because I use Dropbox to manage pretty much everything I do. I consider myself a power user, but I mostly browse the web and text with my phone. I do light document productivity on my phone occasionally and I use GPS a lot--I am an emergency manager and grabbing coordinates with my phone is a must . I also use my phone for music--I love Amazon Prime music, which I understand doesn't have a Windows Phone app. I am a longtime AT&T customer and I don't plan to switch carriers.

I've narrowed my choices down to two strong candidates and one "far shot". I like each for different reasons. The Nokia 830 is ahead by a little bit. I like its size, design, and features like wireless charging and expandable memory. I dislike its middling internals--an aging processor and low screen resolution--given that Microsoft has stated that current 8.1 devices will make the upgrade to Windows 10, I have concerns about longevity. And to be honest, I think the price is just a tad high for what you get. If it was $299 or even $349, I'd probably already have one.