Newbie Question: Using 930 to Record a Low-light Indoor Arena Rock Concert???

GWBlack

May 16, 2015
Visit site
Hi All,

My name is Gary and I'm an absolute newbie to the Lumia 930 as well as smartphones in general (this is my first one). I am going to a rock concert at an 11,000 seat indoor arena and wanted something to record it with (for personal use only). I bought the 930 last week since it is reviewed to have some of the best audio & video recording quality. I have just updated its OS with 8.1 and Denim with Lumia Camera 5.

Please pardon my simple questions, since I just joined this forum and have very little digital photography background (other than setting a point & click camera on "Auto" and letting it go). Although I will spend some time reading this forum's resources, I also wanted to ask directly the following:

1) What are the best audio & video settings to use for this indoor concert? I don't want to screw up the recording, since I may never get to see this band again. I prefer "set and forget" settings, since I don't have any experience with manual ISO, flash & focus settings (but will learn if absolutely necessary). I assume that, at minimum, I should use 1080p video recording with surround sound turned on, since I won't have enough storage capacity for 2+ hours of 4K recording. Are there particular settings or modes that I should be use to handle the low arena lighting and short bursts of bright lights?

2) I read previous posts here pertaining to the older Cyan firmware which said low-light videos on the 930 were very noisy with automatic settings, but also said that things may change once Denim comes out. Has Denim improved the low-light videos under automatic settings?

3) What is the best way to hold the camera still for 2 hours? I saw a Go-Pro type headband (from Cellfy) on Amazon. Is that the type of device that people mostly use to record longer-length concert videos?

Thank you very much for your generous time and valuable advice!!!