Faulty 3rd and 4th Microphone

Joene Floresca

Mar 30, 2016
Visit site
Hi I am new to Lumia 930 and came from Android. I just bought this phone 2nd hand seems pretty good. However I made a diagnostics test last night using the LumiaPhoneTestApplicationInstaller.exe in my PC. And seems that the 3rd and 4th Microphone is not working? I was able to test the primary and 2nd microphone and was able to hear the playback via loudspeaker but on 3rd and 4th mic I can't hear anything from my recording.

My phone is currently running Windows 8.1 Denim. The seller said it was never updated to Win10. I am also seeing issues with microphones in some threads but mostly on 2nd microphone. My primary and 2nd mic is working fine. I also tried recording video via front camera and there's no sound? And when I record a video from the rear cam seems working fine.

May I know if you are experiencing the same or if this is software issue? And lastly where is the 3rd on 4th mic? Is it both the one on the back?

abhirajsoni

Nov 14, 2013
Visit site
I also have this problem. And latest redstone build has fixed this. Although loudspeaker on call is still faulty.

Sent from mTalk

Chomiq

Jul 7, 2015
Visit site
You have a defective unit, get your money back from seller and dump this. Your microphones are physically damaged and no software will fix it. Updating to Windows 10 will only make the issue more apparent.

Microphone 3 is located at the back on top of the device. Microphone 4 is located inside the front top speaker.

QuadraFX

Feb 11, 2013
Visit site
I also have this problem. And latest redstone build has fixed this. Although loudspeaker on call is still faulty.

Sent from mTalk

False. No software update can fix this problem.

And in my case, I had faulty mics 1/2 and currently my phone is being repaired to have mics 3/4 fixed.

abhirajsoni

Nov 14, 2013
Visit site
Thanks. Redstone is for Windows 10 right? I am on Windows 8.1 right now, is it advisable to update to Windows 10 already?