Help Me Not Suck at Titanfall

coip

May 21, 2013
Visit site
I played the Titanfall beta on Xbox One quite a bit. I had a blast, but I also got frustrated a lot because, well, I suck. Now, technically I'm fairly new to the online FPS genre and I'm hoping some of you veteran players can give me some tips on how not to suck. I usually hover around the bottom of the attrition point leaderboards: only getting a few pilot kills or titan kills per game. I've tried various strategies, from 1) staying back and trying to snipe from afar, 2) being aggressive and running around, 3) focusing on just attacking titans, etc. But I always get killed and when I see the replay of how I got killed, it doesn't really make sense to me: it seems that the person who killed me was just doing what I was doing but just got 'lucky' in the sense that they turned a corner and there I was with my back to them (I know it wasn't luck, though, that's why I'm asking your advice). If I try sniping, I get picked off. If I try running around, when I encounter someone else they always seem to kill me before I can even get a shot off.

Even in instances where I have an advantage (maybe I have a split-second of surprise on them), I start firing and they start firing immediately thereafter and they always seem to kill me before I can kill them, even if we're using the same weapon. Is my aiming accuracy just that bad? Do I have to adjust the look sensitivity or something? Because I'm getting a little tired of dying in firefights where I easily should've won (like I start firing, he starts firing, he runs out of ammo and has to reload, and still somehow kills me before I kill him: it's like his gun is more accurate and more powerful). I get that many of these people have been playing FPS games for like a decade, but I find it hard to believe that they're that much better than me that, in situations where we're even or I have a slight advantage, I still die 9 times out of 10. Help!

kb4000

Sep 9, 2013